Back to news

Disinformation Resilience Index Shows Ukraine with High Resilience

October 18StopFake and East Center presented their Disinformation Resilience Index report prepared with financial support of the Visegrad Fund and the German Marshall Fund of the United States. The report states that “the key to understanding the resilience of Ukrainian citizens to disinformation are the annual sociological surveys of media consumption, commissioned by Detector Media and USAID-Internews.”

Main findings of the report are:

  • Ukraine, Czechia, Hungary, Poland and Slovakia demonstrate the highest levels of resilience to foreign-led disinformation, while Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia and Moldova stand out for their resilience in media and digital spheres;
  • All ten countries suffer from weaknesses in their institutional and legal frameworks, which are unable to counter foreign information threats effectively;
  • Belarus and Moldova had the overall worst indicators and were the weakest in their ability to resist foreign-led information threats, whereas Azerbaijan, Czechia, Poland, and Ukraine were the leaders in resilience;
  • Southern and eastern Ukraine are the most vulnerable;
  • The issue of Chinese information influence and resilience to it in Ukraine remains unexplored.

The report’s authors have the following recommendations:

  • establish a coherent and strategic communication strategy, inside and outside Ukraine;
  • create a working information security system;
  • promote Ukrainian language and culture, protect Ukrainian history from falsification;
  • invest in long-term educational programs to strengthen media literacy and give new impetus to coordination between journalists and NGOs;
  • expand the powers of the National Council on Television and Radio Broadcasting, and adopt respective legislation;
  • conduct an impartial audit of the current state and prospects of relations with China and approve it at the level of state policy.

The study covered four Visegrad countries (Czechia, Hungary, Poland, and Slovakia) and six Eastern Partnership states (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, and Ukraine).

More on Ukrinform in Ukrainian.

Photo credit: Brett Jordan on Unsplash